About District

The Lower Dibang Valley district, with the its headquarter at Roing is the youngest of the fifteen districts of Arunachal Pradesh. It forms a part of eastern Arunachal Pradesh. It is named after the River Dibang-one of the important tributaries of mighty Brahmaputra. The district is bounded on the north by the Dibang Valley district, on the East by the Lohit district and Mc Mohan Line, on the west by the eastern and Upper Siang districts of Arunachal Pradesh and on the south by the Tinsukia district of Assam.

The district rises from the Himalayan foothills to the middle ranges with the highest point of Mayudia at a height of 2655 meters from mean sea level. Snow-capped peaks, turbulent rivers, mystic valleys and abundance of rich flora & fauna are a few attraction of the district. The district is well known for its largest cover of thick green forest with almost 80% of the area being notified as reserved forest, wild life sanctuaries or unclassified state forests.

The Talo(Dibang), Ithun, Ason, Chipu, Aba-Jowro, Iphi, Ihi(Sisiri), Datung, Emeh-Eze(Deopani) river systems nourish this area making it a lovely place.

The abundance of natural beauty, colorful and charming tribes, ancient archeological sites make the place a perfect destination for nature lovers, adventurous tourists, archeologists and anthropologist.